How can I get a copy of a Vital Record?
Vital records consist of birth, marriage and death records. The Clerk's office has on file the birth, marriage and death records of every Gorham resident back to 1892. Prior to 1892 these records were not required to be recorded, but we do have a lot of the original records. In 1892 a State law was passed mandating the filing of these records with the Town Clerk in the town where the event took place and with the Town Clerk of residence of each involved party. For a certified copy of a birth, marriage or death record the cost is $15.00 for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional copy purchased at the same time. Records may be attained in person or by written request. Send us the name and date of the event, along with your check for the proper amount and a self addressed stamped envelop to: Town Clerk, 75 South
Street, Suite 1 Gorham, Maine 04038. We will send the copy back by mail.
VITAL RECORDS and GENEALOGY
Vital records consist of birth, marriage and death records. The Clerk's office has on file the birth, marriage and death records of every Gorham resident back to 1892. Prior to 1892 it was not enforced that these records be recorded but we do have a lot of the original records. In 1892 a State law was passed mandating the filing of these records with the Town Clerk in the town where the event took place and with the Town Clerk of residence of each involved party.
In an effort to protect citizens against identity theft, new laws regarding vital records went into effect on July 12, 2010. Only those persons named on a record can apply for a copy of a vital record. For example: mom, dad or child can obtain a birth record; bride, groom, parent or officiate can obtain a marriage record; and spouse, funeral home, informant, or parent can obtain a copy of a death record. A spouse (using a marriage certificate) or a registered partner (using a State of Maine registered partner certificate) can also obtain a certified copy of a vital record. A person showing direct lineage, may obtain a copy of a parent’s or grandparent’s record. All applicants must show photo identification or two substitute forms of identification when applying for a vital record.
The fee for certified copies of vital records is $15.00 for the first copy and $6.00 each for any additional copies obtained at the same time. When requesting a vital record by mail please be sure to include a copy of your photo identification or two substitute forms of identification.
Click here for a marriage certificate request form.
The fee to file a burial permit is $20.00.
Genealogists may obtain a researcher card from the Maine CDC at Office of Vital Records, #11 State House Station, 244 Water Street, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011. There is a $50.00 annual fee for the researcher card. Genealogists must now show this card to obtain information on vital records. Vital records become public records once they are 100 years old. Click here to obtain the genealogist researcher card application.
Records may be obtained in person or by mail with a notarized written request and a copy of your identification. Send us the name and date of the event, along with your check for the proper amount to: Town Clerk, 75 South Street, Gorham, Maine 04038. We will send the copy out by return mail.
Many of our early records are on the Gorham Historical Society web site. Genealogical research can also be done in the Clerk’s office through the use of an index of the original 7 books of the Town. Researchers are not allowed access to the original books but they are allowed free use of the index cards. The Clerk’s office staff will do genealogical research as time allows with a $4.00 fee per name and event. Send us as much information as you have. Include a copy of your State of Maine Genealogy Researcher Card for information on any
records that are less than 100 years old.
Persons wishing to be married in the State of Maine must apply for a marriage licenses from the Town or City Clerk's Office.
Residents of the State of Maine who wish to be married within the State of Maine must file their marriage intentions and obtain a marriage license in the Town or City Clerk's office in the municipality in which either the bride or groom reside.
If neither the bride nor groom are residents of the State of Maine but wish to be married within the State of Maine, they may file their marriage intentions and obtain a marriage license in any municipal office located in the State of Maine. It is recommended that the marriage intentions are filed at the Town or City office where the marriage is taking place so that it is easier to remember where the license was issued for future record requests.
After the marriage intentions are properly filed, the marriage license will be issued immediately. The marriage license will be valid for 90 days from the date of issuance and the marriage ceremony must occur within this time. The parties are then free to marry anywhre within the State of Maine.
If a person has been previously married, a certified copy of the most recent divorce decree or death certificate of the former spouse will be needed at the time the application is filed.
The marriage license fee is $40.00.
Following the ceremony, the license is permanetly filed with the Town or City Clerk's office that issued the license and with the State of Maine. Certified copies can be obtained for a fee of $15.00 for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional copies.
The Gorham Town Clerk's Office can perform a marriage ceremony during regular working hours. Couples that would like to be married at the Gorham Town Clerk's Office should make an appointment by calling 222-1671 or by visiting the Town Clerk's Office at 75 South Street. There is a fee of $50.00 and the couple needs to bring two witnesses with them for the ceremony.