LICENSES AND PERMITS
Persons wishing to be married in the State of Maine must apply for a marriage licenses from the Town or City Clerk's Office.
Residents of the State of Maine who wish to be married within the State of Maine must file their marriage intentions and obtain a marriage license in the Town or City Clerk's office in the municipality in which either the bride or groom reside.
If neither the bride nor groom are residents of the State of Maine but wish to be married within the State of Maine, they may file their marriage intentions and obtain a marriage license in any municipal office located in the State of Maine. It is recommended that the marriage intentions are filed at the Town or City office where the marriage is taking place so that it is easier to remember where the license was issued for future record requests.
After the marriage intentions are properly filed, the marriage license will be issued immediately. The marriage license will be valid for 90 days from the date of issuance and the marriage ceremony must occur within this time. The parties are then free to marry anywhre within the State of Maine.
If a person has been previously married, a certified copy of the most recent divorce decree or death certificate of the former spouse will be needed at the time the application is filed.
The marriage license fee is $40.00.
Following the ceremony, the license is permanetly filed with the Town or City Clerk's office that issued the license and with the State of Maine. Certified copies can be obtained for a fee of $15.00 for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional copies.
CERTIFICATE OF SOLE PROPRIETOR (D/B/A)
Whenever any person intends to engage in a business as a sole proprietor, and to adopt any business name, style or designation other than his own name exclusively, he/she is required by state law, before commencing business, to file a Certificate of Sole Proprieter in the Town Clerk's Office in the city or town in which such business is to be conducted. You will have to appear in person at the Town Clerk's Office before signing the form. There is a $10.00 filing fee.
Commerial or Residential Refuse Collector (Trash Hauler) License
Annual license to collect, recycle, or haul Solid Waste generated within the boundaries of the Town of Gorham.
FEES: $600 Residential Hauler
$600 Commercial Hauler
$200 late fee after June 1st
Fraternity and Soroity Houses
Annual licinsing is required to ensure the safe operation of fraternity and sorority houses, as defined, for residents who are living in these facilities and to ensure that fraternities and sororities are good neighbors within the immediate areas in which they are located.
Any place where food or drink is prepared or served to the public for consumption on or off the premises, shall be licensed annually as a Victualer.
Class I $100.00 Establishments with on-site consumption of liquor
Class II $50.00 Establishments without on-site consumption of liquor
Class III $25.00 Mobile Vending Units
Class IV $0.00 Nonprofit organizations
Mobile Home Park/Campground/Trailer Park License
An annual license for the operation of a new or existing mobile home park/campground/trailer park.
$25.00 up to 10 mobile homes and $2.00 each additional accommodation.
$25.00 up to 50 trailer lots and $1.00 each lot additional lot.
Coin Operated Amusement Device Permit
Annual Permit of those machines whether mechanical or electronic which upon insertion of a coin, slug, token plate or disc may be operated by the public generally at public premises for use as a game, entertainment or amusement, but not limited solely to musical entertainment.
Maximum devices permitted - 8
FEES: Each machine $100
Door-To-Door Solicitation Permit
30 day permit to offer goods, services or real property for sale or rent or to provide information for the purpose of promoting the sale or rental of goods, services or real property door to door.
FEES: $10 per business processing fee
Special Amusement Permit
Annual permit required for music, dancing or entertainment of facilities licensed by the state to sell liquor.
Class I - Live performances of music of up to 3 live musicians or singers: $50.00
Class II - All privileges allowed in a Class I permit plus dancing: $75.00
Class III - All the privileges allowed in Class I and Class II permits plus a floor show type of entertainment: $100.00
Parades and Processions Permit
Event permit allowing a parade, road race, athletic event, walk, procession or assemblage.
To apply for permit contact Gorham Police Department 839-5581
Massage Therapist/Establishment License
Annual license to operate a therapeutic massage establishment or to work as a massage therapist.
Massage Establishment - $75.00
Combined Massage Establishment/Massage Therapist - $100.00
Massage Therapist - $50.00
Conditional Massage Therapist - $50.00
Required Background Check fee - $31.00
Large Outdoor Event License
Outdoor event shall mean any gathering held outdoors with the intent to attract one thousand (1,000) or
more persons for a festival, exhibition, amusement, show, fair, theatrical performance, musical performance,
road race/athletic event or similar activity or any gathering held outdoors with the intent to attract 250 or more
people that will continue overnight.
Automobile Graveyard and/or Junkyard Permit
Annual license which expires December 31st of each year.
Application - Contact the Code Enforcement Office at 222-1605